Centre de recherche sur les politiques et le développement social

Activités

Thirty Years Later: The Participatory Turn's Mirages and Realities

Thursday 19th and Friday 20th February, 2015 - CPDS International Conference

The conference aims to dissect the main consequences of the repeated practice of public participation. Beyond the injunction to participation and the generally accepted idea that public participation is "good" for democracy, what are its effects on the midterm? In particular, we will reflect on different interpretations of participation depending on the contexts and the spaces of participation; the effects of the practice of participation on citizenship and the effects on public policy.

Presentation of the exhibition Citoyens – Hier, aujourd’hui, demain de l’Écomusée du Fier Monde during the Conference

University of Montreal, Carrefour des arts et des sciences, 3150 Jean-Brillant st., Room C-3061

 

Conference Theme

Since more than thirty years, citizen participation is at the center of public life. Praised by technocrats and bureaucrats, adopted by local, national and international political actors, implemented by citizens and studied by analysts, the secrets of citizen participation seems to all be uncovered. However, participation is only rarely been understood over time. This conference proposes to unpack three ‘hidden’ dimensions of participation, understood as both a norm for public action and a well-established social practice: 1) the different interpretations given to the concept and practices of participation, given the contexts and spaces of participatory practices (which also varied over time); 2) the effects of participation on citizenship, in its relationship to institutions and its practices, and; 3) the effects of participation on public action, on the mechanisms invented over time to make compatible two often paradoxical reforms: the participatory injunction and state reforms.

 

Thursday, February 19, 2015 - 1pm to 7pm
Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Room C-3061

1pm-3pm - Panel 1 – A participatory injunction: changing meanings across contexts and spaces

Once a radical democratic project, citizen participation is now an instrument of public policy that is diffused around the world, across contexts, as a panacea for policy efficiency, legitimacy, and so on. Citizen participation has become an injunction: for the governance of groups, businesses and local governments, but also in policy making, development initiatives and financial and social investment programs. What citizen participation means under such an injunction? From an ideal to its practices, how have its multiple meanings been developed, transformed, reinterpreted? How do context and culture matter in the way citizen participation is reinterpreted in its practices?

 

Opening Remarks

Francesca Polletta, University of California, Irvine
Enthusiasm for Citizen Participation: A Historical Look at Changing Views of Participatory Decision Making

Nina Eliasoph, University of Southern California
Top- Down Processes vs Local Knowledge: Designing Contextualized Participatory Practices

Ernesto Ganuza, Spanish Research Council (IESA/CSIC)
From Best Practices to Local Contexts: Conflicts and Paradox in the Rhetoric of Participation

Discussant: Pascale Dufour, University of Montreal

Coffee Break- 3pm-3:30pm : Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Room C-2081/2083

 

Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Room C-3061

3:30pm-5:30pm – Panel 2 - Participation, Citizenship and Inequalities: Meaning(s), Practices and Expectations

The multiplication of participatory mechanisms and processes has, however, a generally overlooked impact on citizenship, its meanings, practices and its relationship to the state, groups and individuals. This panel questions the nature of this link between participation and citizenship.

 

Héloïse Nez, Université François-Rabelais, Tours
Trajectories of politicization and professionalization through participation

Françoise Montambeault, University of Montreal
Constructing Citizenship in Participatory Budgeting: Variations among Citizens’ Trajectories

Dominique Leydet, Université du Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
Marginalized Groups and Inequalities in Participation and Deliberation

Discussant: Deena White, University of Montreal

From 5:30pm - Cocktail and exhibition : Citoyen – Hier, aujourd’hui et demain
Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Room C-2081/2083

 


Friday, February 20, 2015 – 9am to 5pm
Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Room C-3061

9am-11am – Panel 3 - Recent Trends in Public Reforms: Citizens versus Expert Led Decision-Making Process?

The multiplication of participatory mechanisms in the past 30 years have raised expectations about the democratization of public administration and public decision-making processes. Yet, many doubts have emerged with regards to the actual effects of citizen participation, which are instrumentalized, depoliticized, and which do not always account for administrative cultures and local politics. Participatory practices are fragmented, are often experimental and punctual, which prevents their diffusion. This panel looks at the participatory turn from a public policy perspective, looking at state reforms which, paradoxically, have often complexified and closed public decision making processes, and at the public policy production contexts.

 

Tina Nabatchi, Syracuse University
Public Participation in State and Federal Government in the United States

François-Pierre Gauvin, McMaster University
Bringing the Public into Evidence-Informed Policy-Making: Lessons from the Health Sector

Mario Gauthier, Political Science, Université du Québec en Outaouais
Collaborative Planning and Reflexive Practices among Urban Planners and Public Participation Professionals in Quebec

Discussant: Francis Garon, Glendon College, York University

Coffee-Break - 11am-11:30am: Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Room C-2081/2083

 

End of the Public Conference - Followed by a closed seminar for participants only!

 

Conference organized in collaboration with:

Centre de recherche sur les politiques et le développement social (CPDS)

Centre d'études et de recherches internationales (CÉRIUM)

Carrefour des arts et des sciences

Écomusée du Fier Monde

Centre de recherche sur les politiques et le développement social

Activités

Trente ans plus tard: les mirages du tournant participatif

Jeudi 19 et vendredi 20 février 2015 -Colloque international du CPDS

Le colloque a pour objectif de disséquer les principales conséquences de la pratique répétée de la participation publique. Au-delà de l’injonction à la participation et l’idée généralement admise que la participation publique est « bonne » pour la démocratie, quels sont ses effets sur le moyen-terme ? En particulier, nous réfléchirons aux interprétations distinctes données à la participation en fonction des contextes et des espaces de participation; aux effets de la pratique de la participation sur la citoyenneté et aux effets sur l’action publique.

Présentation de l’exposition Citoyens – Hier, aujourd’hui, demain de l’Écomusée du Fier Monde durant le Colloque

Université de Montréal, Carrefour des arts et des sciences, 3150 rue Jean-Brillant, Salle C-3061

Please click here to see the English version of the program

 

Problématique générale du Colloque

Depuis plus de 30 ans, la participation citoyenne est au cœur de la vie publique. Vantée par les technocrates et les fonctionnaires ; adoptée par les politiciens du local à l’international, mise en œuvre par les citoyens, disséquée par les analystes, la participation politique semble avoir livré tous ses secrets. Pourtant, la réflexion qui concerne l’analyse des pratiques participatives dans le temps (en gros, depuis les années 1980) est encore inachevée. Nous proposons, dans ce Colloque, de disséquer trois dimensions « cachées », ou tout au moins peu révélées, de la participation, pris à la fois comme norme d’action publique et comme pratique sociale bien installée: 1) les interprétations distinctes données à la participation en fonction des contextes et des espaces de participation (qui ont également varié dans le temps); 2) les effets de la pratique de la participation sur la citoyenneté, dans son rapport aux institutions autant que dans ses pratiques; 3) les effets sur l’action publique des mécanismes inventés et construits au fil du temps pour « rendre compatible » l’injonction à la participation et les réformes étatiques.

 

Jeudi 19 février 2015 – 13h00 à 19h00
Carrefour des arts et des sciences, Salle C-3061


13h00-15h00 - Panel 1 – L’injonction à la participation : significations changeantes suivant les contextes et les lieux

Au départ un projet démocratique radical, la participation citoyenne est devenue un instrument de politique publique, qui s’est diffusée dans différents contextes. Elle est souvent perçue comme une panacée pour atteindre l’efficacité politique et la légitimité de la décision. Au fil du temps, la participation citoyenne est devenue une injonction : pour la gouvernance des groupes, des entreprises et des gouvernements locaux, mais aussi pour le développement de politiques et de programmes. De l’idéal à la pratique, quels sont les différents sens que la participation a pris ? Comment les contextes de participation et les cultures influencent la manière dont la participation citoyenne est réinterprétée en pratique ?  

Mot d’introduction 

Francesca Polletta, University of California, Irvine
L’engouement pour la participation citoyenne: un regard historique sur les perspectives changeantes  concernant la prise de décision participative

Nina Eliasoph, University of Southern California
Processus « top-down » vs savoirs locaux : portrait des pratiques participatives en contexte

Ernesto Ganuza, Spanish Research Council (IESA/CSIC)
Des bonnes pratiques aux contextes locaux : conflits et paradoxes dans la rhétorique de la participation

Commentatrice : Pascale Dufour, Université de Montréal

Pause-café - 15h00-15h30 : Carrefour des arts et des sciences, salle C-2081/2083

 

Carrefour des arts et des sciences, salle C-3061

15h30-17h30 – Panel 2- La participation comme pratique sociale : des effets de long-terme sur la citoyenneté ?

La multiplication des dispositifs participatifs et leur déroulement dans le temps ont un impact sur la citoyenneté, autant du point de vue des pratiques citoyennes que du rapport établi entre l’État, les groupes et les individus.

Héloïse Nez, Université François-Rabelais, Tours
Trajectoires de politisation et de professionnalisation par la participation

Françoise Montambeault, Université de Montréal
Trajectoires différenciées de citoyenneté des participants au budget participatif

Dominique Leydet, Université de Québec à Montréal (UQAM)
Les inégalités dans la participation/délibération, les populations marginalisées et la participation.

Commentatrice : Deena White, Université de Montréal

À partir de 17h30 - Cocktail dînatoire avec expo : Citoyens – Hier, aujourd’hui, demain 
Carrefour des arts et des sciences, salle C-2081/2083

 

 

Vendredi 20 février 2015 – 9h00 à 17h00
Carrefour des arts et des sciences, salle C-3061

 

9h00-11h00 – Panel 3 – Bilan des processus participatifs : citoyens vs experts dans la conduite de la décision publique

La multiplication des dispositifs participatifs dans les 30 dernières années  a suscité beaucoup d’espoir sur la possibilité de démocratiser l’administration publique et les processus de décision publique. Or, plusieurs restent sceptiques quant à l’effet des processus participatifs, qui sont instrumentalisés, qui dépolitisent, qui ne tiennent pas compte des cultures administratives et politiques locales. L’objectif de ce panel est de faire le bilan des dispositifs participatifs du point de vue des politiques publiques en s’intéressant aux réformes de l’État qui accompagnent souvent les dispositifs participatifs et ont, paradoxalement, complexifié et fermé les processus de décision publique, ainsi qu’au contexte de production des politiques publiques.

 

Tina Nabatchi, Syracuse University
La participation publique dans l'État et les gouvernements fédéraux aux États-Unis

François-Pierre Gauvin, McMaster University
Impliquer le public dans l'élaboration de politiques éclairées par des données probantes: leçons du secteur de la santé

Mario Gauthier, Université du Québec en Outaouais
Planification collaborative et pratiques réflexives chez les urbanistes et les professionnels de la participation publique au Québec

Commentateur : Francis Garon, Collège universitaire Glendon, Université York

Pause –Café - 11h00-11h30 : Carrefour des arts et des sciences, salle C-2081/2083

 

Fin de la partie colloque -Suivi d'un séminaire fermé pour les participants seulement!

 

Colloque organisé en collaboration avec

Centre de recherche sur les politiques et le développement social (CPDS)

Centre d'études et de recherches internationales (CÉRIUM)

Carrefour des arts et des sciences

Écomusée du Fier Monde